St Lucia Groovy Soca Monarch Finalists 2008

by Shannon Lebourne
(St Lucia)

St Lucia Groovy Soca Monarch Finalists 2008

Story By
Shannon Lebourne

Twenty will do battle in the second annual Groovy monarch finals. Of the twenty – 14 will be in the finals for the first time. As expected – the NG Soca Stage topped the list with the most qualifiers. There are 7 – Yardie, Mantius, Blaze, Ninja Dan, Kerian Piper, Kakal, Slick and Q-Pid. The Take Over Tent has six finalists. They include the second and third place finishers in the 2007 competition. The TOT finalists are – Ashanti, Alpha and Nicole, Ricky T, Marianne, Black I and Herb Black.

(St Lucia Groovy Soca Monarch Finalists 2008)

Three of four competitors from the Ambassadors calypso tent made the cut. They are Dean Roberts, Mr Brown and Lady Leen. The Spectrum calypso tent has two finalists – Mighty Taker and Sparkle. Reigning calypso monarch Menel rounds off the list – she is the only qualifier from the South calypso tent. The groovy monarch finalists will be held on Wednesday July 9th at the Gaiety.

End of St Lucia Groovy Soca Monarch Finalists 2008

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to St Lucia Carnival.